Adams County Board of County Commissioners

Photograph of Joe Iveson, Adams County Commissioner.
Joe Iveson
District 1 | Chairman
Areas of Responsibility:
  • Fair Board Advisor
  • Adams County Parks & Rec Advisor
  • Stibnite Advisory Council
  • Nomination for BLM Resource Advisory Committee
  • Gem Plan Board Member
  • Road & Bridge
  • Winter Recreation
Photograph of Daren Ward, Adams County Commissioner.
Daren Ward
District 2
Areas of Responsibility:
  • Weed Dept Advisor
  • Adams County Solid Waste contact
  • Digby 3-911 Committee
  • Idaho Association of Counties committees: Justice and Public Safety, Transportation and Infrastructure
Photograph of Viki Purdy, Adams County Commissioner.
Viki Purdy
District 3
Areas of Responsibility:
  • Southwest Idaho Area 3 Agency on Aging
  • Southwest District Health
  • Magistrate Division
  • Payette Forest Coalition
  • Building Inspector Advisor
  • National Association of Counties Public Lands Committee
  • Idaho Association of Counties committees: Public Lands
  • Packer John Park

Meeting Times

The Adams County Commissioners’ meet on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th Monday of each month. If the Monday falls on a legal holiday, the meeting is rescheduled to the day following the holiday.

Meetings are called to order at 9:00 am in the Commissioners’ Room at the Adams County Courthouse, and run until approximately 4:30 or 5:00 pm.

Anyone can request to have a matter put on the agenda for the Commissioners’ Meeting. Requests must be made through the County Clerk’s office, (208) 253-4561. The agenda is finalized at the end of the business day, the Friday preceding the next meeting date.

All meetings of the Board of Commissioners are open to the public with no appointment required. Members of the public may bring up any topic for discussion that the Board has time to deal with, which does not interfere with adhering to their published agenda. However, no action can be taken that day on any matter that has not been included in the agenda. This allows all interested parties have the opportunity to comment on any subject before the Board takes action.

Meeting Agendas

Click below for upcoming agendas and archived minutes. The Meetings In July will be on the 1st, 15th and 22nd.
Archived Commissioner Meeting Minutes

About the Board

The Idaho Code mandates a minimum of three County Commissioners in the list of county officials required for county government. Any county may elect to expand this number to 5, 7 or 9 board members. However, no counties in Idaho have chosen to expand their boards beyond three members.

It further mandates that two County Commissioners serve two-year terms and the third serves a four-year term. The four-year term rotates between the Commissioners districts.

The Board has budget control, sets salary and benefit levels, and adopts countywide policy for all departments of County government. Other elected officials set policies and procedures for their individual departments.

However, the following Departments report directly to the Commissioners:

  • Building Department
  • County Extension Office
  • Juvenile Probation
  • Public Defender
  • Road & Bridge Department
  • Solid Waste/Recycling
  • Weed Control

The Board also appoints members to the following County Boards:

  • Adams County Weed Management Area
  • Ambulance
  • Citizens Advisory Committees and study groups
  • County Fair
  • Historic Preservation Commission
  • Parks
  • Planning and Zoning

Adams County Commissioner Districts

For a map of the districts, please click here.

Adams County Ordinance Index click here

Adams County Ordinances & Comprehensive Plan

Click Here

Adams County Budget & Financial Statements

Click Here
201 Industrial Ave. Council, Idaho 83612
(208) 253-4561
(208) 253-4227
Website Policies
Employee Portal